News of the Day


by Craig Altschul

The Vermont Ski Hall of Fame has announced its 2010 inductees, said the Stowe Reporter. The four are Johannes von Trapp of the famed von Trapp family; Lawrence Snow Damon, a cross-country skier and biathlete; Hilary Engisch Kelin, a four-time Women’s World Cup moguls champion; and Bob Gray, a member of the U.S. Nordic Ski Team from 1962-1974.They will be formally inducted during a ceremony Sunday, Oct. 24 at the Stowe Mountain Lodge. The purpose of the Vermont Ski Museum Hall of Fame is to honor athletes, special contributors, and pioneers of Vermont skiing who promoted and/or contributed to the sport of skiing in Vermont; to document the histories of Inductees in the Museum’s collection; and to recognize their accomplishments through the Induction ceremony and the Hall of Fame exhibit. Inductees since the organization began in 2002 include Andrea Mead Lawrence, Vermonters who served in the 10th Mountain Division during WWII, Billy Kidd, Bill Koch, Donna Weinbrecht, Suzy Chaffee, and several Cochran family members. The Hall of Fame, located in the Old Town Hall built in 1818 on Main Street in Stowe, features special exhibits and collections which can be seen every day but Tuesday from noon-5 p.m. sends its congratulations to all four inductees. E

This entry was posted in News of the Day on by .

About Craig Altschul

Craig Altschul is Editorial Director of He is a veteran snow journalist, having covered the sport for more than 40 years. His syndicated snow sports humor column, Ski Tips, ran in newspapers across the country for 20 years. He was Global Editor-in-Chief for OnTheSnow for 12 years and has written for a variety of magazines and newspapers. Altschul is past president of both the Eastern Ski Writers Association and the North American Snow Journalists Association.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.